2017 FEMMY AWARDS Breaks Contribution Records

In a stunning achievement, the 2017 FEMMY AWARDS took in a record amount of donations at an elegant ceremony in Midtown, NYC. We stopped by to see the scene!

You can’t blame the FEMMY Awards for dropping in at the end of January/middle of the fashion weeks to kick off another year of philanthropy. Every industry has its stars, and the world of lingerie is no different. This year, they celebrated the industries’ stars at the 2017 FEMMY AWARDS, held at Cipriani 42nd Street on Tuesday, January 31st, and pulled in a stunning $631,000 in giving with $117,000 generated specifically for dedicated scholarships.

Hal Rubinstein joined more than 600 industry executives, media and celebrities who attended the event sponsored by The Underfashion Club, a not-for-profit organization, which promotes industry and student education. Norman Collier, Managing Director of Stretchline (UK) Limited, accepted The Lifetime Achievement Award. Collier is known for his impact in revolutionizing the industry technically.

Global CEO of Stretchline Elastics, Timothy Speldewinde said, “He spearheaded projects to solve never-before-addressed intimate apparel issues, inventing elastic products.” It’s an interesting look into arguably one of the most important industries, whether you like it or not. Undergarments are essential to today’s wardrobe, so continued innovation is essential.

The FEMMY Honorees included Retailer Award: Aerie accepted by Jennifer Foyle, Aerie Global Brand President; Manufacturer Award: Cupid Foundations, Inc. accepted by David Welsch, CEO, President and Marilyn Welsch, Secretary/Treasurer; Supplier Award: Tianhai Lace Co., Ltd., accepted by Ning Yi Shen, General Manager; Innovation Award: Under Armour, Inc. accepted by Lisa Struble, VP, Technical Design.

At the entrance of Cipriani, guests could view the six F.I.T. student finalists competing for top design. The works were seen by many of the lingerie industry’s best and reviewed by a panel nominated from The Underfashion Club. Students drew inspiration from the athleisure theme.

The top three winners of the 2016 Student Design Contest were awarded scholarships presented by SAIG Co-Chairs Suzanne Beck and Clelia Parisi. The first place winner, Katelyn Zawierucha, her design “Tres Sportive”, received $5,000, and an all expenses-paid trip to Paris Mode City provided by Eurovet and Curvexpo. Second place winner Jennifer Monzon, received $4,000 for her design “Obsidian” and third place winner Mary Kate Kauffelt, received $3,000 her design “Instant Replay”. The other participating students included Bonnie Chen, Diandra Howell, and Lara Tabak. Guest judges included Jos Berry, Concepts Paris; Jami Dunbar, Under Armour; Gill Heer, Lane Bryant; Angie Lau, Clover Group; and Helen Mears, Adore Me.

The evening continued beautifully with a full dinner and performances along with a special awards ceremony that truly drew attention to this unique industry’s best and brightest.

“The FEMMY Awards are an essential part of our ongoing efforts to raise funds to promote education, innovation and growth within the Intimate Apparel Industry. Congratulations to the 2017 winners who joined us in these efforts,” said Victor H. Vega, President of The Underfashion Club.

Learn more online:



Photo Credit: Andrei Jackamets

More from Benjamin Schmidt

ON THE SCENE: BACARDÍ and Mark Ronson Host Halloween Mega Bash

BACARDÍ hosted a star-filled Halloween party Brooklyn’s Navy Yard, featuring Mark Ronson,...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *