On The Scene: Jennifer Simard, Jelani Alladin, Krysta Rodriguez and more Talk All Things Off-Broadway At The Lucille Lortel Awards

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - MAY 01: Krysta Rodriguez and Jelani Alladin pose backstage during the 37th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards at NYU Skirball Center on May 01, 2022 in New York City. (Photo by Eugene Gologursky/Getty Images for Lucille Lortel Theatre)



This season of off broadway has taken viewers to magical places, shown us the true meaning of life and morality, made us laugh with hilarious solo shows, and so much more. It’s truly been an incredible season, and Sunday’s Lucille Lortel Awards celebrated the magic of these beautiful shows. Created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League and named for the award winning actress and producer who was honored with a theater in her name, the awards honor the excellence of the time, dedication and craft of Off-Broadway shows.


It was the first time the awards had been held in person in three years, and it was a joyous occasion for all involved. Awards were given to recipients in 16 categories, with two honorary awards also bestowed. The Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball hosted by three pairs of stars from stage and screen: Jared Grimes (Broadway’s “Funny Girl”) and Jeff Hiller (HBO’s “Somebody Somewhere”), Krysta Rodriguez and Jelani Alladin (“Hercules”), and Jennifer Simard and Christopher Sieber (“Company.”) The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF.

The big winners of the night were David Lindsay-Abaire‘s Kimberly Akimbo, and Heather Christian’s Oratorio For Living Things, each taking home three awards. Additional winners included Black No More, English, Fairycakes, Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, Letters Of Suresh, On Sugarland, Prayer for the French Republic, Sanctuary City, The Chinese Lady and TWILIGHT: LOS ANGELES, 1992.

The inaugural Outstanding Ensemble award was presented to the cast of Ars Nova’s Oratorio For Living Things. Both Performer in a Musical awards were presented to Kimberly Akimbo – Lead to Victoria Clark andFeatured to Bonnie Milligan. The Atlantic Theater Company production with Book and Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire and Music by Jeanine Tesori, also received the award for Outstanding Musical. Sanaz Toossi’s English, a co-production of Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theatre Company, took home the award for Outstanding Play.

Two special honorees this year we’re granted incredible awards. Deirdre O’Connell was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award by Heidi Schreck; and David Henry Hwang was inducted onto the famed Playwrights’ Sidewalk by Jeanine Tesori

We we’re so honored to witness this beautiful celebration of off broadway! Here more about the awards here!



Related posts

Visit to Arlo Soho Hotels which Houses Foxtail, Lindens & A.R.T Soho

EXCLUSIVE: Issa Rae talks “Rap Sh*t” at ABFF

Mekai Curtis Talks ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan Season 2’, Love for Music and More [VIDEO]